The Artists Forum

Connecting Artists Online. Forum for artists, photographers, illustrators, fashion designers, sculpters, potters, installation artists, digital artists, textile artists, knitters!

Forum Data

Forum rules


Very Important!
* Avoid duplication posts - Please search the forum (e.g. use the potential scammers email address) before posting.
* Login and post to the Private Forum if you are not 100% sure that you are correct about a scam warning.


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: I'm new and think I have my first scam email already!!
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 6:38 am 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 2:54 pm
Posts: 205
Location: Kent
Hello everyone, I'm Tiffany!!
Loving the artistsweb - very easy to use and it looks great.
Had an email from a Mr Jackson Smith with a Yahoo address, and all the classic signs of a scam email. Be careful out there!!!![color=b :roll: lue][/color]
http://www.tiffanydurling.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 8:21 am 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:43 pm
Posts: 160
Location: Cwmbran
Hi Tiffany

Welcome to the forum. :D

Thanks for the potential scam warning, the forum is a great place for warning each other about these things.

I'm so pleased that you are enjoying the Artists Web. Good luck with everything and wishing you lots of sales.

Regards

Linda

http://www.artbylindahopkins.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 8:29 am 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:27 am
Posts: 116
Hi Tiffany I have had one from Mr Jackson Smith as well. couldnt even address it to me personally, just seller, and no actual painting specified, Yes I am afraid another scam, destination the bin.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 8:29 pm 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 2:54 pm
Posts: 205
Location: Kent
thankyou Judith and Linda for your replies!!
I'll have a peek at your websites now!!
xxx :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: reply
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 9:58 pm 
Offline
Power User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 1196
Location: Chelmsford
Hello Tiffany and welcome :D

_________________
http://www.sunsetpaintings.co.uk
http://www.wendy-puerto.co.uk
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 6:45 am 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 2:54 pm
Posts: 205
Location: Kent
:lol:
Hi Wendy! Thankyou!
Lovely sunsets by the way....
x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 5:40 am 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 48
Location: Brighton
Hello Tiffany and welcome

The forum is a great place to get advice, find out about whats going on and of course to get warnings about scams.

Your website looks great.
Helen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:51 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 3:05 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Liverpool
Hiya. I just had an email from a guy called James Moore. Checked it out on google and a few other people have had the same email. Tis a scam. Watch out! He is from Agro Trading or something.

Feel horrible cos at first you think you have a customer. Damn these people, tis just rude. xx

_________________
Clementine. 2007. Fabric Designer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 6:53 am 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 2:54 pm
Posts: 205
Location: Kent
Hi there!
Yes I agree it is very rude and leaves you with a bad feeling....Good news is that I haven't had anymore. But then I haven't had a sale yet either!!
ha ha
:shock:
regards,
Tiffany
http://www.tiffanydurling.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:25 pm 
Offline
Senior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:12 pm
Posts: 554
The advice to check forums when receiving an email is good, also google the buyers naem and email. we have to help protect each other - there are too many morons out there trying to get it. Its sad when you think you ay have a sale but better to find out Before you get conned or waste too much time on contact.

_________________
http://www.jeanniezelos.com
http://www.artbuyweb.com/Jeannie-Zelos
http://www.affordablebritishart.co.uk/g ... los&aid=17


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Forum » Artists Forum » Art Scam Warnings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
phpBB SEO

[ Time : 0.176s | 14 Queries | GZIP : Off ]