The Artists Forum

Connecting Artists Online. Forum for artists, photographers, illustrators, fashion designers, sculpters, potters, installation artists, digital artists, textile artists, knitters!

Forum Data

Forum rules


Very Important!
* Avoid duplication posts - Please search the forum (e.g. use the potential scammers email address) before posting.
* Login and post to the Private Forum if you are not 100% sure that you are correct about a scam warning.


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ANOTHER SCAM EMAIL?
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 9:17 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 4
:( ANOTHER SCAM EMAIL? HAS ANYONE RECEIVED A MESSAGE FROM ...
GRAHAM...ARTISTS@NEWORIGINALS .COM?

BY THE WAY HI...I'M LIN BAILEY

HAVE ALSO BEEN RECEIVING QUITE A FEW SCAM EMAILS ,SAME AS A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAVE ,BUT HAVE NOT YET SEEN THIS ONE QUESTIONED. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOU HAVE THANKS! : :? [/b]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 11:03 pm 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:38 pm
Posts: 391
Location: Dunblane
I got this one too a week or two ago - I don't know whether it's a scam or not but I did manage to find a t&c page (with some difficulty) on their website. This is the link:

http://newartoriginals.com/artistlogon/ ... terms.html

In summary, it's free to register but then they they want exclusivity, take a 50% commission and if it sells, you ship the painting to them then they pay you within 60 days. (!). I'm no expert on gallery commissions but I believe 50% is fairly rich even for a gallery rate where they do specific marketing etc, internet art usually prices itself on affordability ie much lower or zero commissions. I didn't like the look of the terms so declined.
cheers
Elise


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: In Answer to Your Quetion on Newartoriginals
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 11:30 am 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 71
Hi Lin,
Elise has given you a good idea about this outfit, once you enter their site look up the small print, you will find that " IF " you sign up with them you will be very very much out of pocket , not only do they want full control of the art work, you have to pay (now watch carefully ) for ALL packaging , Insurance , Currier Fees "too and fro " to them and the clients that they find, whereby the client has a 30 Day refusal built into their agreement, plus they give you no guarantees as to what condition your art work will be on it's return to you .
The other thing is like Elise said the commission they will be
taking on any sales, IF you are lucky it will be their 50% , the insurance fee
and maybe one lot of currier fees and packaging ( which is one big bite out of your apple), if you have the misfortune to not please the first buyer it is another big bite out of the same apple.

So for piece of mind drop the idea of using them. There are people out there that will love to buy your art at the price you wish to sell at you don't need these smart talking highwaymen to rob you blind. If you use Paypal and only paypal to collect your payment you can save yourself a lot of pain from people like this . Good luck with your sales.
Richard[/u]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 3:05 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 10
Location: Norwich
Hi,

Thanks for clearing this email up. I recieved a similar email from this company on thursday, saying all the usual. Its a shame when you find out its a scam but hey, as long as you keep reading up on the small print of these companies then you'll eventually find a genuine one.

Hope your ok


Matt Roberts


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Me too
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 3:35 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 24
Yes I received this too. I declined ,the website looked absolutely awful...lots of crap clip art and totally unprofessional not really something I would want my work to be associated with. 50% is pretty steep commision. There are lots of these sites about some prettier than others and some asking for a fee which is more realistic I wounldn't touch with a barge pole...I did check out one of the artists on it and they are also selling on London art which looks reputable but it just isn't an attractive proposition.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Dodgy emails!
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 5:15 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Posts: 2
Hi there....this email from the chap called Graham...I have had it too and another one from someone else....I think that if someone contacts you about selling your work on their site there must be something iffy about it all....I would never trust anyone who contacts me like this....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2007 10:08 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 9:23 pm
Posts: 23
I had an email from them as well, and replied to them saying that I had to decline...
The reputable online galleries generally have free memberships, and some have featured memberships which have a yearly charge...This is the only online gallery that I've come across that insists on a large commission and exclusivity!!!
I wouldn't touch this one with a 10 foot pole!

_________________
Natalie Green, Nat's Wildlife Art
http://www.natswildlifeart.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: New Art originals.com Ltd is NOT A SCAM
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 10:14 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:43 pm
Posts: 4
Hi my name is Graham Director of New Art Originals.com Ltd. I have just logged in and read a few comments with some dissapointment. I think I need to set the record straight on a few issues. Firstly New Art Originals.com is NOT a SCAM. I don't know where this rumour started or why but we are a registered UK company no 5955838. Our website is a secure one verified by Geo-Trust. We offer secure online payment to our customers (not Paypal). Our online site has been live for two weeks and
yes we are new, but this is no reason to call our activities a scam.

With regard to our terms and conditions and payments to artists:

The reason we pay 30 -60 days later is due to the fact that under distance
selling law we MUST offer a money back guarantee. We offer 14days. So for example if a customer orders on the net on day 1 we would need to contact the artist (yourself), we would need to receive the work hopefully within a week. We would then need to check ,invoice and pack the works and send to customer. The time taken from order to delivery by ourselves could be 7days to 10days In a worst case scenerio this would mean the customer could receive the works on day 13, add to that the 14 day cooling off period thats 27days already.If the customer decides to return the art on the last day of the cooling off period we would be forced to wait another 3-7days for the return delivery of the works.Obviously if payment has already been issued to yourself this would be an administrative nightmare.

You say you have never before heard that you should send your artwork out via a middle man and get paid later but ALL realworld galleries operate this way. We do not need the actual works until the customer orders via secure payment.

All returns from the customer must be in original condition or money will
NOT be refunded.


I think our method is a good alternative to paying monthly subscriptions to sites that has no interest in selling art, but just in collecting subscriptions

( I think subscriptions are good for the website owner and not good for the
artist at all. )


If you're lucky enough to sell via your own site that's great, we are offering a service that can compliment what you are doing at no upfront cost to yourself so if we deal with the customer ,the invoicing the packaging the marketing, and the enquiries it leaves you a bit more time to paint! We are already getting hundreds of hits a day to our site and growing daily and have 50+ artists registered already and growing

We do NOT insist you hand over your entire collection to us exclusively give us a try with one or two works first is fine.


With regard to commision we have to allow for vat @17.5%, delivery,insurance etc.

With regard to costs to the artists,the artist will pay the delivery costs to us
and not for redelivery if the works are returned

If we dont sell we dont get paid unlike many other art websites!

IT's FREE to Register


I hope this answers your queries



Graham Jules



Director


New Art Originals.com Ltd



Online Store:
http://www.newartoriginals.com



Register and Full Terms Artist Logon Site:
http://www.newartoriginals.com/artistlogon


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Forum » Artists Forum » Art Scam Warnings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
phpBB SEO

[ Time : 0.160s | 17 Queries | GZIP : Off ]