The Artists Forum

Connecting Artists Online. Forum for artists, photographers, illustrators, fashion designers, sculpters, potters, installation artists, digital artists, textile artists, knitters!

Forum Data

Forum rules


Very Important!
* Avoid duplication posts - Please search the forum (e.g. use the potential scammers email address) before posting.
* Login and post to the Private Forum if you are not 100% sure that you are correct about a scam warning.


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: is this a scam?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:30 pm 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 3:21 pm
Posts: 57
Hi,
Ive had the following email via TAW today.Is it a scam?
They have sent me a contract,are opening a new gallery,and have a website.
I dont have much experience with this sort of thing.Any advice?
From: alan gerrard
Email: alangerrard@btconnect.com
------------- Message ------------
Dear Lisa

We are about to open a gallery showing mostly abstract, bizarre & risque art
/ photography and sculpture.

I was wondering if you would like to show your works with us.

We are a commercial gallery and are offering negotiable terms.

If you would like to know more please get in touch. My msn is
seventiesrock@hotmail.co.uk.

By the way, the gallery is called theartbay gallery. It is situated in
Stoke-on-Trent.

We have a website too, which is currently being upgraded. It is called
http://www.theartbay.co.uk

Kindest Regards

Alan & Cheryl Gerrard

44 (0)1782844222

info@theartbay.co.uk
alangerrrard@btconnect.com

Lisa


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 6:48 pm 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 71
Location: shropshire
No it isnt a scam, I have spoken with Alan and will be sending some of my work to him.It looks a lovely gallery. :lol:

_________________
what comes around, goes around.
http://www.paintingmyway.co.uk
http://www.paintingmyway.blogspot.com
http://www.dianetheartist.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 8:19 am 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 3:21 pm
Posts: 57
Thanks Diane.He did seem genuine,but some of these scams are so sophisticated i thought id check here first!
Lisa


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

Forum » Artists Forum » Art Scam Warnings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
phpBB SEO

[ Time : 0.160s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]