The Artists Forum

Connecting Artists Online. Forum for artists, photographers, illustrators, fashion designers, sculpters, potters, installation artists, digital artists, textile artists, knitters!

Forum Data

Forum rules


Very Important!
* Avoid duplication posts - Please search the forum (e.g. use the potential scammers email address) before posting.
* Login and post to the Private Forum if you are not 100% sure that you are correct about a scam warning.


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:22 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:24 am
Posts: 34
Location: carnoustie scotland
Has anyone else had an email from an Andy Whittle from Liverpool area ?
He's looking for digital images to make into canvas art to then sell online and in shops initially in his Liverpool Cheshire area. He certainly seems genuine (but don't they all ?) and he's using his work email (northernrail.org)
I'd like to give him a go but thought I'd check with the scam experts first !!

_________________
http://www.brianpetrie.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:07 pm 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 82
Location: Cheshire UK
yes, i've had a couple of emails now and he's going to ring me when he can.

_________________
http://www.lindi-kirwin.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 6:35 pm 
Offline
Senior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 1:12 pm
Posts: 541
Hi - lindi I'd be interested in what he says - i've just had email from him and just posted an enquiry on JZ forum. i was going to email you lindi as i thought you may have heard of him . like always the devil is in the detail - seems a good thing on surface but depends on how he'll market them. I was going to try the print bit on here but so many people seem to have had problems with uploading images and when it comes to IT ... and that put me off a bit :( but maybe i'll give it a go..

_________________
http://www.jeanniezelos.com
http://www.artbuyweb.com/Jeannie-Zelos
http://www.affordablebritishart.co.uk/g ... los&aid=17


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:55 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:16 am
Posts: 28
Location: London
Hi,
He's contacted me too and seems to be perfectly genuine...but I'll watch this space......

_________________
http://paintingskiathos.wordpress.com
http://www.yvonne-ayoub.com/
http://yvonneayoub.imagekind.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:33 pm 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 82
Location: Cheshire UK
:)
andy rang me just as jack duckworth realised vera had passed away in the chair!! :lol: :oops:
(not that vera's passing away was funny, you understand!! lol)

anyway, we had a good ol' natter and he was very upfront about everything.
he's a web designer/businessman and will be working with his dad, who is a photographer and his girlfriend who is in marketing. he lives in leeds but dad is on the wirral.
he said they are hoping to be up and running in 2 months time and in the meantime will be tweaking things.
i asked him about a written contract if i was to come onboard and it was something he was looking into putting together at the moment.
he'd had a fab response so far...some hobbyists, some professional, and he said this would obviously reflect in the sales and commission rates, etc.

all in all, i've asked him to keep me posted as things progress.

hope this helps. :D

_________________
http://www.lindi-kirwin.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:22 pm 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:38 pm
Posts: 360
Location: Dunblane
I got this one too. Lindi, has he given you any ideas of the sort of commission structure he is looking at? Is he going to charge for image uploads or will it all be commission driven?

cheers
Elise

_________________
http://www.eliseferguson.co.uk
http://www.minigalleryworld.com/Elise_Ferguson/
http://www.artfair365.co.uk/artists/EliseFerguson


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:31 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 16
Location: Sheffield UK
Re: Andy Whittle
I've received an e-mail too. Is he being selective or e-mailing everyone? Any other TAW members let us know. You've got to be very wary but he may be genuine.

Mark H


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 8:56 am 
Offline
Power User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 1172
Location: Chelmsford
I think he sounds genuine,nice feeling about it,if there is no major outlay it could be another string to an extra bit of income for life,especially when it come to being a pensioner would be a nice little extra. :D :wink:

_________________
http://www.sunsetpaintings.co.uk
http://www.wendy-puerto.co.uk
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:25 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 3:36 pm
Posts: 7
hi, i joined the artists web two days ago and have had an e mail from Andy whittle.
I would imagine he has sent it to everyone..
personally, having read this thread, I would be wary..
Yes, I'm cynical, but I have good reason!

_________________
http://www.juliaforte.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 12:51 pm 
Offline
Power User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 1172
Location: Chelmsford
Hi any chance you can elaborate on this,is it relating to this or another time you were stung by someone else?

_________________
http://www.sunsetpaintings.co.uk
http://www.wendy-puerto.co.uk
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 1:13 pm 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 6:23 pm
Posts: 130
hi, I haven't heard from him, but then I don't sell art so I think he is being selective. I can't imagine there can be anything wrong with a bit of cautious exploration of a possible way to make money from your work.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 1:48 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 3:36 pm
Posts: 7
hi,
Don't worry, its past experience that makes me cynical.
It may well be a legitimate request but as others have said, there's no harm in caution!

_________________
http://www.juliaforte.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 1:57 pm 
Offline
Power User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 1172
Location: Chelmsford
Ok Thanks,I am quite cautious but thought it no different than selling prints though say someone like easyart only on a smaller scale.Selling prints in this way can be a lifelong extra income.

_________________
http://www.sunsetpaintings.co.uk
http://www.wendy-puerto.co.uk
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 4:02 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:27 pm
Posts: 22
I've had an email from Andy Whittle too. How would the artist know the number of pictures sold, or would they have to rely on his honesty? He could surely publish & sell 100 prints from a single image , but declare & pay the artist for just 1 !

Val

_________________
http://www.valpendleton.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Andy Whittle ??
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 4:12 pm 
Offline
Power User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 1172
Location: Chelmsford
I think like you Val, but with any printer how would you ever know?It has crossed my mind with the large printing outlets,but without coming out and asking directly and offending,I don't have the answer. :?
Does anyone else have an idea on this,I for one would find it helpful.

_________________
http://www.sunsetpaintings.co.uk
http://www.wendy-puerto.co.uk
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Forum » Artists Forum » Art Scam Warnings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
phpBB SEO

[ Time : 0.189s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]