The Artists Forum

Connecting Artists Online. Forum for artists, photographers, illustrators, fashion designers, sculpters, potters, installation artists, digital artists, textile artists, knitters!

Forum Data

Forum rules


Very Important!
* Avoid duplication posts - Please search the forum (e.g. use the potential scammers email address) before posting.
* Login and post to the Private Forum if you are not 100% sure that you are correct about a scam warning.


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: eldnavaspera@yahoo.com message warning
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:01 am 
Offline
Junior Forum Member

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:00 am
Posts: 54
We noticed about 50 identical messages sent to artists on The Artists Web from this email address in a short space of time this morning. The messages all appear to be identical, a slightly broken english enquiry asking for prices. This may of course be a genuine enquiry, but just wanted to let everyone know that it was a 'bulk' message.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:17 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 5
Mmm, I received one, I replied to it giving details of what seemed obvious by just looking at the website, did seem a bit strange. Oh well, looks like I haven't just got my first sale!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: the mass email
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 7:34 pm
Posts: 1
same here and yes it was obvious that some of my work is priced, thought it was a bit odd. What was it all about?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 5:56 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 24
I would avoid doing anthing about dealing with Eldna Vespera. I too received an email for her in slightly broken english. I decided to just answer asking who she was and in what capacity she was enquiring and said all my prices were on my site anyway.
I have just got an answer back and it is completely dodgy. She has said that she was coming to manchester for a seminar and so wanted to come and see me at my studio (I live on South Coast), but that unfortunatley she can't come over now. so she has basically listed all of the artworks that are for sale on my site and says that she wants to buy them all and that I should ship them over to her address in Denmark and she will pay for them by UK cheque. She wants to know my address which in no way am I telling her. I used my yahoo account instead of my normal one.

PLEASE ANYONE, I AM SURE THIS IS A COMPLETE SCAM AND WON'T BE DOING BUSINESS WITH HER, I ADVISE NO ONE ELSE TO EITHER.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 5:21 pm 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 3:15 pm
Posts: 222
There was a similar scam descibed in the money sections in a newspaper. I am not sure of the details but they send you a (worthless) cheque for too much and they ask you to send the outstanding back to them out of your account .Any genuine buyer will go along with your paying arrangements and you should never part with work until you have recieved payment


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 7:04 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 24
I know, I think that is exactly what is happening here. I totalled up the amount of paintings she wanted and it came to about


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 10:10 pm 
Offline
Forum Member

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 143
Location: Leicestershire
Hi there

Its shocking to think that the banks can clear a cheque and then change their minds weeks later- but thats how the scam works. If your ever offered more money- run! And the wording 'last price' usually screams scam also.

Jo

_________________
Life is sweet!

http://www.josheppard.co.uk
http://www.josheppardpaintings.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 1
Hi,

just thought i'd let you know that aswell aswell as the e-mail from Eldna i also received one from a guy called James Owen which seems to be exactly the same sort of scam, so beware!

Darren

http://www.dbgallery.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: our friend eldna
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:41 am 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:34 pm
Posts: 11
I also have had this e-mail - as soon as i mentioned that I would rather receive payment by PayPal, comunication stopped.
I am new to all this and apreciate the support thanks for picking up on this......all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:26 am 
Offline
Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 7:38 pm
Posts: 391
Location: Dunblane
This site is quite good to look through if you want to warn yourself about what to look out for:

http://www.britisharts.co.uk/artistsbeware.htm

You don't want to suspect everyone who emails you but it is better to be on the safe side I reckon. I have to say that in the few months I've been trying to sell art online I've had more "dodgy" enquiries than genuine ones, although for the life of me I can't work out why some of them bother. I think sometimes they are just trying to get hold of your email address so if you are replying to something which looks a bit suspect use a "disposable" email address rather than using your main one.
Elise


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:36 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 32
Haha, they just keep on trying don't they. they really believe that people are stupid enough to part with their artwork having received no real payment. I feel quite left out actually as i didn't receive any dodgy e-mails. Maybe they thought my work had no value and wasn't worth scamming haha.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:46 pm 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:27 am
Posts: 66
Location: East Yorkshire
Well, I've just looked at your work Tom and am very impressed. I particularly liked some of your cartoon blocks - I laughed out loud at the Dave with the large hand one!!!! Very funny!

Oh, and just to get back on topic, scam emails are often obvious due to their bad english and grammar, but it's always worth checking on here first, to see if anyone else has had it too!

_________________
http://helendavison.co.uk
http://roguegenecollective.com
http://www.affordablebritishart.co.uk/g ... son&aid=43

Live life, love life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 6:37 pm 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 50
Oh dear, what is happening? I have just received an e-mail from a Steve Martin in Cape Town, requesting to purchase several artworks using a 'cherified cashiers cheque'. I'm so pleased that you have all alerted us to these scams as I would have probably jumped for joy and been taken in. :cry:
Looks like we are all being targeted. Good to share all info so that no one gets caught out.
:x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 9:50 am 
Offline
Forum Member

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 143
Location: Leicestershire
As a rule, these tend to come from overseas- but obviously, the odd genuine overseas enquirey will come through too. For those who aren't sure, if ever in any doubt, posting it on the forum should enable you a establish whether others have been sent etc-

Bloomin scammers- makes you wonder what their success rate is like.

Jo

_________________
Life is sweet!

http://www.josheppard.co.uk
http://www.josheppardpaintings.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:14 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 32
Good point, it must work otherwise they wouldn't keep on doing it. Ah well, they're not going to scam any of us now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Forum » Artists Forum » Art Scam Warnings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
phpBB SEO

[ Time : 0.309s | 16 Queries | GZIP : Off ]