The Artists Forum

Connecting Artists Online. Forum for artists, photographers, illustrators, fashion designers, sculpters, potters, installation artists, digital artists, textile artists, knitters!

Forum Data

Forum rules


Very Important!
* Avoid duplication posts - Please search the forum (e.g. use the potential scammers email address) before posting.
* Login and post to the Private Forum if you are not 100% sure that you are correct about a scam warning.


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: markyoung_77@yahoo.com warning
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 4:45 pm 
Offline
Junior Forum Member

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:00 am
Posts: 54
Another person has sent a lot of messages to members to today, we think this enquiry is not genuine:

[Email] => markyoung_77@yahoo.com
[Name] => Mark Young
[Message] => Hello,
I will like to purchase some of your art works for my home in Dubai,and i will like you to get back to me with listings and costs of your works available.I will be able to choose the ones i want or need.Kindly get back to me asap.

Mark Young...........


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 2:24 am 
Offline
Junior Forum Member

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:00 am
Posts: 54
Several members have reported that this person is very suspicious so we are sure that it is indeed a scam, so we recommend all members cease/ignore any further communication.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 11:11 am 
Offline
Junior Forum Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 7:24 am
Posts: 71
Hi All,
I have been watching all of the threads about the latest scam to which I also have also received email from. Being a very careful person I dealt with his request with the below email:-
mark young <markyoung_77@yahoo.com> wrote:

Dear Richard,
Thanks for the reply,i will prefer a United Kingdom Cheque/Draft by my Associate.hope you will be comfortable with this method?.get back to me asap.Regards.
Mark Young.............



Richard F Barber <richardbarber2006@yahoo.co.uk> wrote:

Dear Mr Young ,
I'm afraid I only accept payment via Paypal.com . the reason for this is that I live in China and my bank is in the UK.
Dealing with paypal I know that the payment is secure and fast, also to register with paypal is easy giving you the security of knowing you will receive the goods without any chance of loosing your money. by just clicking the button you will find that all the costs are calculated for you and you know what each item is costing you, just like a shop.
Kindest regards Richard F.Barber

I found that this stops them in their tracks, If indeed he was a client with the real intension of buying my art he would have accepted the built in security of Paypal also as a speedy way to make a purchase and get confirmation of the availability of what ever they are buying. I hope that this will be helpful to all of our members.
Kindest Regards to All.
Richard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 4:08 pm 
Offline
Junior Forum Member

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:00 am
Posts: 54
Thanks for the advice Richard!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 7:02 pm 
Offline
Forum Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:50 am
Posts: 3
It's an overpayment scam. :cry: He said he would pay more than I had asked and I would have to pay the difference to his associate for shipping.

If I had gone through with it I would have got a dud cheque and paid over the overpayment (


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Forum » Artists Forum » Art Scam Warnings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
phpBB SEO

[ Time : 0.155s | 13 Queries | GZIP : Off ]